Controlled substances are any drugs, medication, mixtures or substances that could be harmful to a person. Although the laws are pretty much the same for drugs and controlled substances, they might slightly differ depending on which state you are currently in. For example, marijuana despite being labeled illegal by federal laws has now been legalized in a number of states including Colorado, California, Oregon, Alaska and Washington DC. Whereas in some states like Columbia the use of marijuana is only allowed for medical purposes.
What sections and codes deal with controlled substances?
Controlled substances are divided into five categories depending on their affects, and each category is dealt accordingly.
- Information regarding all substances falling under the category of Schedule I are tackled in Va. Code 54.1-3446 and examples of such substances are LSD, hashish oil, ecstasy and heroin
- Drugs falling under Schedule II like cocaine, meth and Adderall, are dealt in Va. Code §54.1-3448
- Schedule III is covered under Va. Code §54.1-3450, and includes drugs like Tylenol, Pesomax and anabolic steroids aka. bodybuilding drugs
- Code §54.1-3452 covers all Schedule IV substances including Xanax and Restoril
- Finally, all drugs falling under the category of Schedule V in the list of controlled substances, are discussed under Va. Code §54.1-3454. This includes drugs like Phenergan and Robitussin AC
What are the punishments for possession and distribution of controlled substances?
The punishments for possessing controlled substances are relatively less severe from the punishments and penalties you get from distributing such substances. Also, what you should know is that the harshest punishments when it comes to crimes related to controlled substances are for distribution amongst minors.
- Possession of Schedule I and II drugs are punishable by from up to 1 to 10 years in prison and a possible fine $2,500. Distribution of these drugs calls for a fine of $500,000 and a prison sentence ranging from 5 to 40 years
- Having Schedule III substances in your possession can land you a fine of $2,500 and around a year of jail time. While distribution can get you a fine of $2,500 and as much as 10 years in prison
- If you are found guilty of having Schedule IV controlled substances in your possession then you can be sent to prison for almost 6 months and will have to pay a fine of $1,000. If you are found guilty of distribution then you might have to pay a fine of $2,500 and will get nearly 5 years in prison
- Coming down to the out punishments for the possession of Schedule V controlled substances. If you are found in possession of such substances then you will have to pay a fine of $500. The penalties for distribution of controlled substances are a fine of $2,500 and a year in prison if you’re found guilty
If you want to access the full list of controlled substances, as per Virginia laws, in alphabetical order, then you should check out DEA’s Diversion Control Division list.