Virginia’s law provides for severe penalties for those who drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Although first-time offenders can have surprising effects from a DUI conviction, fines for repeat offenders are even tougher. If you or a loved one are charged DUI fees, contact a Prince William County DUI lawyer for legal advice. While you may feel that DUI fees will ruin the rest of your life, this is far from certain. In a DUI case, you may have different means of defense. A lawyer can help guide you through the complicated criminal justice system and find a positive solution to your charges. DUI fees in Prince William County
Driving under the influence, also known as intoxication is a common indictment in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nobody is immune to DUI charges; people from all walks of life and different professions can be burdened with DUI. Anyone facing DUI charges can use the services of a DUI lawyer in Prince William County. Code SS 18.2-266 prohibits people from driving a drunk vehicle, whether due to alcohol or drugs. Code SS 18.2-266 prohibits people from driving a drunken vehicle, whether due to alcohol or drugs.
To prove that a driver is drunk, the prosecutor must provide one of the following: The driver has a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more The driver has consumed alcohol or drugs to the extent that the ability to drive safely is impaired, or The driver has a specific blood concentration of some controlled substances such as cocaine, methamphetamine or phencyclidine. There is a separate section of code listing the DUI offense for drivers who are under the age of 21 and are not legally authorized to drink alcohol.
According to VA. Code SS 18.2-266.1, drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.02 percent or more violate the law. This is a much lower standard than the 0.08 percent BAC required for adults over the age of 21 to be responsible for DUI due to BAC.
Possible penalties for a DUI conviction Possible penalties for a DUI conviction Code SS18.2-270 provides that a first DUI offense is a Class 1 offense for which a mandatory minimum penalty of $ 250 is imposed, but no mandatory minimum penalty. For a first offense, in which the drivers have a BAC between 0.15 and 0.20 percent, a mandatory minimum penalty of five days applies. If the BAC measures more than 0.02 percent, there is a mandatory minimum penalty of ten days. The maximum possible prison sentence for a class 1 offense is 12 months. Subsequent DUI violations only increase the potential penalties; the penalties depend on the five and ten-year review periods. For example, if drivers receive three DUI convictions within ten years, they receive a mandatory minimum of 90 days, and if they accumulate three DUI convictions within five years, they receive a mandatory minimum of six months. Given the severity of these possible sanctions, it may be beneficial to seek advice from a DUI lawyer in Prince William County.
Other possible penalties besides prison, fines, and automatic administrative license suspensions are judicial license suspensions. Administrative and judicial license blocks are not carried out simultaneously, but in succession. License bans ordered by the court are usually more severe; a first-time DUI leads to a one-year judicial license suspension as opposed to an initial seven-day administrative license suspension. If you want to apply for a restricted driver’s license within the year in which you are suspended, an ignition lock must be installed on every vehicle you want to drive for at least 6 months.